Painting Project : Front Door

It’s been a long six months since we last had work done (our bathroom here).  It took considerable amounts of money and so much of my energy to plan and co-ordinate the project that we’ve taken a rest for awhile.  The winter months have kept us inside but now our attention again turns to the house.  Yesterday was such a lovely day that I was inspired to get down to the DIY shop and get supplies for our next project:  our front door.

Having thought about it for the past few weeks (see my front door post here) we decided to go ahead this weekend.  I didn’t give my husband much notice and we were both out there on a chilly afternoon sanding down the paint instead of watching football or Moonraker so he wasn’t all that chuffed!

We inherited a front door that is a mid-blue colour, sort of the colour of chelsea football club (after sanding it looks more like a faded cornflower blue).  It has large toughened glass panels, some chipped paint, quite a few holes, a kick plate and a mix of satin chrome and polished chrome brassware.

IMG_6243

After sanding the paint back and wiping it down I have masked off the brassware:

IMG_6244

IMG_6245
I bought some dark tone undercoat/primer from the DIY shop as I’m going for a dark colour as a top coat:

IMG_6241

Because our doors have Satin Chrome locks (which I think look more like satin nickel) I need to source a new letterbox and door bell as the old ones are polished chrome.

Satin Chrome Banham lock

Satin Chrome Banham lock

I went to SDS in Wandsworth, close to my home, and bought a letterbox and door bell push in satin nickel:

satin nickel letterbox

SDS letter plate in satin chrome

 

With one layer of undercoat on I painted the first coat of dark eggshell:

IMG_6290

And here is the result of 3 hours freezing work this morning…first coat finished!!

IMG_6289-0

 


 

Paint

Undercoat: Dark Tones primer/undercoat – Farrow & Ball

Paint: Off Black Exterior Eggshell – Farrow & Ball

(i did try and find a cheaper alternative but for shades of black there wasn’t any other choice at B&Q or Homebase).

What do you think?

Don’t look too closely as you’ll see my amateur attempt!

x

Leave a comment