The Small Home

A beautiful mum from Jack’s old nursery has set up an interiors company and I went along a few weeks ago to check out her first home sale.

The Small Home is about style and substance, carefully chosen artisan products that inspire your space. They are not perfect, mass-produced replicas.  They are about inspiring a feeling and telling a story.

Before I went to see for myself I wondered what could they offer that hadn’t already been done before but I soon understood when I stepped into their space.  It’s hard to explain it but there was definitely an atmosphere – a feeling of calm and of connection.  This wasn’t just another accumulation of random bits and bobs to buy, things you don’t need and probably won’t use.  There was a feeling of emotional well-being.  An antidote to city living.  A link to those who had created the pieces and to the places where they had been made.  An intimacy that can only be created by a small home.

Those gorgeous giant candles on my mantlepiece:

IMG_0038

My new metal star:

IMG_0216

The Small Home

2 thoughts on “The Small Home

Leave a comment