New skill : Calligraphy

IMG_2006

Ever since I was a little girl, spending my pocket money on Windsor and Newton inks in every hue from my local stationery shop, I have been in love with Calligraphy.  Back then, the books taught you how to do old school, medieval-style, script and I struggled to get my feather ink pen, or scratchy fountain pen, to get the right style. Thankfully things have moved on since those days and a more modern approach to calligraphy is now all the rage.

On Monday, after years of wanting to return to this beautiful way of writing, and in my new personal goal to expand my learning, I attended a workshop event hosted by Sheerluxe and A-laise at the Hoxton Hotel and had my first introduction into modern calligraphy.

After 2 hours our hands ached but I was hooked, all over again!

Here are a couple of my beginner attempts…

IMG_2153

IMG_2147

Bit scratchy but I’m loving the practising and hope to show you a more professional looking calligraphy soon!

xx

Leave a comment